The Status column in the Admin People Page lets you know whether a user is Active, Invited, or Inactive.
See descriptions below:
Invited: When you invite a new user to Virtuous Volunteer (via their email address), they are given a status of Invited until they accept their invitation. While they are in the Invited Status they can be assigned to Opportunities and be added to People Groups. Once they accept their invitation, their status changes to Active.
Active: an Active user in your Virtuous Volunteer Account is a Member who is fully active and ready to volunteer with your organization. Active Users can see your Private Opportunities since they are Members of your Organization, and can join/ be assigned to Opportunities and be added to People Groups.
Inactive: an Inactive user is a user who has been removed as an Active user and cancels any future volunteer registrations. Their Volunteer Resume is still available to be seen and all volunteer history is preserved for Inactive Users. You can re-invite an Inactive User (which will change their Status to Invited -see above) at any time.
Deactivating and Removing Users
Deactivating users from the People page sets their membership to Inactive and archives the volunteer record. Background checks, certificates, and all volunteer history will be preserved, but they will no longer be added to new Opportunities. To deactivate a user, select the checkbox next to their name. Then, select Deactivate from the Actions at the top.
Finally, select Deactivate again from the confirmation pop-up.
You can re-invite inactive members at any time by selecting their checkbox near their name and clicking Reinvite from the Actions.
Removing members, alternatively, is permanent. Removing a member will:
- Delete their membership record from this organization
- Delete any associated background check records (note: records in third-party integrations such as Checkr or Sterling remain available in those external systems)
- Cancel any future volunteer registrations
Removing still preserves hours reported on historical serving opportunities, but the volunteer's record and background check history is permanently erased. If you want to keep that history or plan to re-invite the volunteer in the future, use Deactivate instead.
To permanently remove a volunteer, select the checkbox next to their name, then select Remove from the Actions menu at the top. Confirm by selecting Remove Permanently.