Why are some Project's registration buttons different from others?

Projects have different types of registration buttons depending on the Project Owner's needs for the volunteer. In this article, you will learn what these different types of buttons mean and what you need to do.

A Project's registration button might say one of the following:

 

When the button says "Join"

1. Joining a Date/Time Project

Joining a Project means you are signing up for a specific time slot on a specific date with a role associated with that time slot. This is the most common type of volunteer opportunity in VOMO. This type of Project does not have any approval restrictions (i.e. "organizer approval" or "background check required"). Simply click "Join" next to the time slot(s) that you wish to register for. 

Screen Shot 2021-12-02 at 10.36.27 AM

2. Joining an Anytime Project

When joining an Anytime Project means that you are not signing up for a specific time slot. Instead, you are going to be asked whether you are "...Interested in Serving" or "...Have Already Served".

Screen Shot 2021-12-02 at 10.44.01 AM
Anytime Projects allow the volunteer to log hours served in the past (or items contributed) versus registering for a specific time slot. So you get a choice when you first join:

  • Clicking "I'm Interested in Serving" will simply put you on this Project's list as an interested volunteer.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-02 at 10.45.52 AM
  • Clicking "I Have Already Served" will display a box for you to select the date and number of hours you served. After selecting "I'm Interested in Serving", the Project page will refresh and the "Join" button will change to say "+ Add Hours/Items". Clicking this will bring up a box to input your hours served (or items contributed).
    Screen Shot 2021-12-02 at 10.55.08 AM
  • After selecting "I'm Interested in Serving", the Project page will refresh and the "Join" button will change to say "+ Add Hours/Items". Clicking this will bring up a box to input your hours served (or items contributed).
    Screen Shot 2021-12-02 at 10.55.26 AM

When the button says "Apply"

Applying for a Project will appear when an opportunity with dates, times and roles also has approval settings activated by the Project Owner (i.e. "organizer approval" or "background check required"). Because you need approval from the organizer the volunteer role you chose, when you register for the Project your registration will be pending until the organization either approves or denies you for the role and time you chose.

Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 3.43.57 PM